Project Sync Administration

 
 
 

The Project Sync feature provides file and folder synchronization between Vault and Autodesk Buzzsaw. This capability enables Vault users to automatically synchronize files from a folder in Vault with a folder in Buzzsaw. The synchronization works in both directions; files can be uploaded from Vault to Buzzsaw and vice versa, providing simple and reliable two-way communications between project team members.

The Project Sync utility can be configured to automatically perform synchronization in ways that best suit your needs. A synchronization can occur at a scheduled time each day, continuously, whenever a specified work event occurs , or on demand. For some, it may be necessary to synchronize each evening when the office is closed. For others, it may be necessary to set it so that when a user performs a change state on a file in Vault, that file is automatically shared to Buzzsaw so that the changed file is used by all consumers.

Project Sync is available for download from the Site Information Page on your Buzzsaw site. In order to install and configure Project Sync, you must have Autodesk Vault Workgroup or Autodesk Vault Professional installed and you must be a Vault Administrator.

Enable the Job Server

Since the Project Sync functionality depends on the Vault Job Processor to pull jobs from the Job Server queue, ensure that the Job Server is enabled.

You must be an administrator in Vault to enable the Job Server.

Configure Project Sync Settings

Synchronization

The synchronization settings allow you to configure how and when synchronization between the Vault and Buzzsaw folders take place.

Synchronize All Folders

Select the frequency for when synchronization between Vault and Buzzsaw takes place.

  • Daily at–Automatic synchronization between Vault and Buzzsaw will take place each day at the specified time.
  • Continually–Automatic synchronization will take place every time the Job Processor executes jobs.
  • Manually–Automatic synchronization is disabled with this setting. Synchronization will occur when users click the Sync Now button in the Vault stand-alone client. Choosing the Sync Now button will add the sync job to the Job Queue and will be processed the next time a processor runs.

Delete Settings

Because administrators may not want to allow Vault files to be deleted, they are able to configure what happens to files in the vault when files are deleted in Buzzsaw.

  • Do not allow deletion of Vault data–Files in the Vault will not be deleted if they are deleted in Buzzsaw.
  • Delete non-restricted Vault data only–Files in the Vault will be deleted if they are deleted on Buzzsaw, but only if an Administrator override is not required to delete the files.
  • Delete Vault data unconditionally–Files in the Vault will be deleted if they are deleted on Buzzsaw, even if an Administrator override is required.

Proxy Settings

The use of a proxy server may prevent the Vault server from synchronizing with the Buzzsaw server. If there is a proxy server in place, the administrators can configure the Project Sync tool to authenticate with the server.

  1. Select Configure in the Proxy Settings field.
  2. In the Proxy Settings dialog, check the box for Use a HTTP proxy server.
  3. Fill in the HTTP proxy and Port data in the Proxy Server Settings field.
  4. If authentication is required, input the authentication information in the Authentication Settings field. If not, leave them blank.
  5. Choose OK.

The Project Sync tool will use this setting to synchronize data between Vault and Buzzsaw.

Project Sync–Lifecycle Event Editor