To change an entity in a connected workgroups environment, the workgroup must have ownership of that entity. When taking ownership of an object the user selects the length of time in which no other workgroup can take ownership. This length of time is called a lease. At the end of a lease the current owner maintains ownership until another user requests ownership of that object. If the lease is expired, the requesting workgroup takes ownership of that object.
There are two types of ownership in a connected workgroup environment, ownership of specific entities (i.e., files, folders, items, change orders, and custom objets), and ownership of administrative objects.
In the Autodesk Data Management Server Console you can configure the default lease length for ownership and change Administrative Ownership for a workgroup.