File Ownership

 
 
 

In a replicated environment, your workgroup must have ownership of the files that you want to modify. Ownership prevents another workgroup from checking out the files and modifying them.

When managing file ownership, you can assign ownership to another group, specify lease duration for your own workgroup, and determine whether related documentation or associated items are included when ownership permission is claimed or transferred.

Access the Manage Ownership dialog by right-clicking the file or group of files the workgroup wants to own and selecting Manage Ownership from the context menu.

When performing an edit operation on an entity that is not owned by the current workgroup, but the lease has expired at the owner, ownership is transferred automatically and the edit operation succeeds. However, if the databases are not in sync, ownership is still transferred but the edit operation is canceled.

Access the Manage Ownership Dialog for Files
Include related documentation
Pair ownership of items and files
Select and unselect files for ownership
Assign Ownership to a Different Workgroup
Change the Lease Duration
Release File Ownership