In a replicated environment, it is necessary to have ownership of the items that will be modified to prevent another wokgroup
from claiming the rights for making changes to that data.
When managing item ownership, you can assign ownership to another group, specify lease duration for your own workgroup, and
determine whether related documentation is included when ownership permission is claimed or transferred.
Access the Item Manage Ownership dialog by right-clicking the item or group of items you want the workgroup to own and selecting
Manage Ownership from the context menu.
When performing an edit operation on an item that is not owned by your workgroup, but the lease has expired at the owner,
ownership is transferred automatically and the edit operation succeeds. However, if the databases are not in sync, ownership
is still transferred but the edit operation is canceled.
Access the Manage Ownership Dialog for Items
- In the Autodesk Vault Client, right-click on the item(s) for which you want to manage ownership and select Manage Ownership
from the context menu.
The selected items are displayed in the Manage Ownership dialog with a check mark.
Items that are owned by the current workgroup or with an expired lease for another workgroup appear in bold. Bold font indicates
that you can change the ownership for the file.
Include related documentation
- Select the Include related documentation check box to have files related to the items included when ownership is requested.
Pair ownership of items and files
- Select the Pair ownership of files and items check box to have ownership transferred for files related to the items in the
list.
Select and Unselect Items
A context menu is provided for fast access to checking and unchecking items.
- Right-click on an item to show the context menu.
- Perform one of the following tasks:
- Select Check to select that item in the list.
- Select Check All to select all items.
- Select Uncheck to unselect that item in the list.
- Select Uncheck All to select the item and its children.
Assign Ownership to a Different Workgroup
- On the Item Manage Ownership dialog, select the workgroup to which you want to assign ownership from the Assign to workgroup
drop-down menu.
NoteThe Assign to workgroup drop-down menu will only list the workgroups with the replicated vault.
- Click OK to commit the change.
A status dialog opens to show how many items succeeded in transferring to the specified workgroup. If any workgroup assignments
were unsuccessful, the number is displayed. Each item is listed with a status for additional clarification.
Change the Lease Duration
You can specify the length of lease for the selected items .
- On the Item Manage Ownership dialog, enter the length of the lease period (for which the workgroup should have ownership)
by using the combination of input box and drop-down menu. The default lease duration is zero or whichever amount is set as
default by your administrator.
- Click OK to reset the lease duration to the specified length of time.
Release Item Ownership
Ownership can be released so that another workgroup can acquire control if necessary.
-
With the target items selected on the Item Manage Ownership dialog, set the lease to zero
- Click OK. This sets the lease period to zero and frees up the leases for all selected items.