NoteThe Change Order feature is available only in Autodesk Vault Professional.
In a replicated environment, it is necessary to have ownership of the changes orders that will be modified to prevent another
workgroup from claiming the rights for making changes to that data.
When managing change order ownership, you can assign ownership to another group and specify lease duration for your own workgroup.
Access the Manage Ownership dialog by right-clicking the change order or group of change orders you want the workgroup to
own and selecting Manage Ownership from the context menu.
When performing an edit operation on a change order that is not owned by your workgroup, but the lease has expired at the
owner, ownership is transferred automatically and the edit operation succeeds. However, if the databases are not in sync,
ownership is still transferred but the edit operation is canceled.
Access the Manage Ownership Dialog for Change Orders
- In the Autodesk Vault Client, right-click on the change order(s) for which you want to manage ownership and select Manage
Ownership from the context menu.
The selected change orders are displayed in the Manage Ownership dialog with a check mark.
Change orders that are owned by the current workgroup or with an expired lease for another workgroup appear in bold. Bold
font indicates that you can change the ownership for the change order.
Select and Unselect Change Orders
A context menu is provided for fast access to checking and unchecking change orders for ownership management.
- Right-click on a change order to show the context menu.
- Perform one of the following tasks:
- Select Check to select that change order in the list.
- Select Check All to select all change orders in the list.
- Select Uncheck to unselect that change order in the list.
- Select Uncheck All to unselect all change orders.
Assign Ownership to a Different Workgroup
- On the Manage Ownership dialog, select the workgroup to which you want to assign ownership from the Assign to workgroup drop-down
menu.
NoteThe Assign to workgroup drop-down menu will only list the workgroups with the replicated vault.
- Click OK to commit the change.
A status dialog opens to show how many changes orders succeeded in transferring to the specified workgroup. If any workgroup
assignments were unsuccessful, the number is displayed. Each change order is listed with a status for additional clarification.
If the include check box was selected, any change orders that were transferred to the specified workgroup are listed as well.
Change the Lease Duration
If your workgroup has control of the administrative object, you can specify the length of lease for the selected change orders.
- On the Manage Ownership dialog, enter the length of the lease period (for which the workgroup should have ownership) by using
the combination of input box and drop-down menu.
The default lease duration is zero or whichever value was set as default by your administrator.
- Click OK to reset the lease duration to the specified length of time.
Release Administrative Ownership
Ownership can be released so that another workgroup can acquire ownership if necessary.
- With the target change orders selected on the Manage Ownership dialog, set the lease to zero.
- Click OK. This sets the lease period to zero and frees up the leases for all selected change orders.