Work with Change Order States

 
 
 

The Status tab in the Change Order dialog box displays a workflow chart of all possible combinations of state progressions.

You can also view the current status of the change order by selecting the Status tab in the Change Order dialog box. Double-click a state to view information about that state.

By default, a single participant assigned the approval role can approve a change order that is in the Review state. The routing definition can optionally require all participants with approval permission to approve a change order for it to enter the approved state.

The Change Administrator can optionally require that all participants with approval permission must approve a change order for it to enter the approved state.

NoteThe Change Administrator can force the approval of an open change order.

Once a change order is fully approved, the change order enters the closed state. The files and items associated with the change order are released. If the product is new, the new files and items are released for the first time. If the design configuration currently exists, the existing revision is superseded by the new revision of the item.

If you create a new assembly and it has previously unreleased parts, then setting effectivity releases both the assembly and the previously unreleased parts for the first time.

NoteAlthough the new, previously unreleased parts do not have to be on the change order, it is recommended to place these parts on the change order for tracking purposes

Work with States, Activities, and Roles

When a change order is created, information regarding the change request is entered in the Change Order dialog box. A change order can be created with or without an associated file or item.

The state of the change order determines which fields can be modified and by whom.

When a new change order is saved, it enters the Create state. The person requesting the change order is automatically assigned to the Change Requestor role. When the Change Requestor submits the change order, the change order enters the Open state and notification is sent to the users that have a role in the next state of the workflow.

Create State
Open State
Work State
Check State (Optional)
Review State
Approved State