Project Sync Administration

 
 
 

The Project Sync feature provides file and folder synchronization between the Vault and Autodesk Buzzsaw products. This capability enables Vault users to automatically synchronize files from a folder in Vault with a folder in Buzzsaw. The synchronization works in both directions; files can be uploaded from Vault to Buzzsaw and vice versa, providing simple and reliable two-way communications between project team members.

You can configure Project Sync to automatically perform synchronization whenever a specified work event occurs.  For example, you can set it so that whenever a user performs a change state on a file in Vault, Vault and Buzzsaw automatically synchronize so that the changed file shows in Buzzsaw.  

Project Sync is available for download from the Site Information Page on your Buzzsaw site. In order to install and configure Project Sync, you must have Autodesk Vault Workgroup, Autodesk Vault Collaboration, or Autodesk Vault Professional installed and must be a Vault Administrator.

Release Availability

Project sync is available in Vault Workgroup, Collaboration, and Professional 2012.

Enable the Job Server

Since the Project Sync functionality depends on the Vault Job Processor to pull jobs from the Job Server queue, ensure that the Job Server is enabled.

You must be an administrator in Vault to enable the Job Server.

Configure Project Sync Settings

Synchronization

The synchronization settings allow you to configure how and when synchronization between the Vault and Buzzsaw folders take place.

Synchronize All Folders

Select the frequency for when synchronization between Vault and Buzzsaw takes place.

  • Daily at–Automatic synchronization between Vault and Buzzsaw will take place each day at the specified time.
  • Continually–Automatic synchronization will take place every time the Job Processor executes jobs.
  • Manually–Synchronization will only occur when users click the Sync Now button in the Vault stand-alone client.

Delete Settings

Configure what happens to files in the vault when files are deleted in Buzzsaw.

  • Do not allow deletion of Vault data–Files in the Vault will not be deleted if they are deleted in Buzzsaw.
  • Delete non-restricted Vault data only–Files in the Vault will be deleted if they are deleted on Buzzsaw, but only if an Administrator override is not required to delete the files.
  • Delete Vault data unconditionally–Files in the Vault will be deleted if they are deleted on Buzzsaw, even if an Administrator override is required.
Project Sync–Lifecycle Event Editor