NoteThis feature is available only in Vault Collaboration and Vault Professional.
To change an entity in a connected workgroups environment, the workgroup must have ownership of that entity. When taking ownership
of an object the user selects the length of time in which no other workgroup can take ownership. This length of time is called
a lease. At the end of a lease the current owner maintains ownership until another user requests ownership of that object.
If the lease is expired, the requesting workgroup takes ownership of that object.
There are two types of ownership in a connected workgroup environment, ownership of specific entities (i.e., files, folders,
items, change orders, and custom objets), and ownership of administrative objects.
NoteSee the Autodesk Vault Client help for more information on managing ownership of Vault entities and administrative objects.
In the Autodesk Data Management Server Console you can configure the default lease length for ownership and change Administrative
Ownership for a workgroup.
Change Administrative Ownership
To make changes to Users, Groups, Roles, Permissions, ECO definitions or Job Server the user will need Administrative Ownership.
You can obtain ownership for your workgroup only if the lease has expired at the owner. If your workgroup is the current
owner, you can assign ownership to any other workgroup whether lease has expired or not.
- Launch the Autodesk Data Management Console.
- From the pull down menu select Tools
Administration.
- If the icon is shown then the current workgroup has ownership. If not click the button to take ownership.
- If the current workgroup was the owner and the lease has expired click the refresh button.
- If a different workgroup had ownership select the workgroup to assign ownership and the lease length and click update
NoteIt could take up to one minute to show the new ownership in the dialog box.
Change Default Ownership Setting for Files, Folders, Items, Change Orders, and Custom Objects
You can configure the default setting for the length of an ownership for newly entities in a vault.
- Launch the Autodesk Data Management Console.
- From the pull down menu select Tools
Administration.
- Select the Advance Settings tab.
- Under Ownership Lease click the Settings button.
Zero is the default setting for ownership lease for all entities (files, folders, items, change orders, and custom objects).
This means that as soon as an entity is created and added to a Vault, the creator has ownership with a lease that has already
expired. This is also the default value on the Manage Ownership dialog, for all entities and Administrative objects.
NoteBy setting the default ownership to a low value, entities are available for any other workgroup to take ownership immediately.