Manage Change Orders

 
 
 

Vault Professional provides control over how designs and design changes are managed and released. You can create change orders to describe changes to a design as well as manage the progression of that change order as it is reviewed, approved, or rejected. Change orders provide a historical record of why, how, and when changes were made.

Before you begin:

About the Change Order Dialog
View a Change Order
Change Orders and Files
Change Orders and Items
Add a File or an Item to a Change Order
Add Related Files Or Items to a Change Order
Add Files and Create Markups
Attach Files from a Change Order to a Comment
Add Comments to a Change Order

Understand Routings and Routing Roles

NoteRouting lists can only be created by a user with Administrative permissions.

When a change order is created, you specify a routing. A routing is a list of participants with predefined roles. Each of the different roles has specific permissions and responsibilities. The Change Administrator, Responsible Engineer, and Approver roles control the progression of the change order. The Reviewer role can add markups, view, add, and reply to comments.

The person creating the change order automatically becomes a Reviewer on the change order routing. Any participant can add additional Reviewers to the routing as needed.

Basic Routing Editing Rules
Change Order Routing Roles
Administrator and Responsible Engineer Tasks
Reviewer Tasks
Approver Tasks
Manage Routings

Understand Change Order States

The Status tab in the Change Order dialog box displays a workflow chart of all possible combinations of state progressions.

You can also view the current status of the change order by selecting the Status tab in the Change Order dialog box. Double-click a state to view information about that state.

By default, a single participant assigned the approval role can approve a change order that is in the Review state. The routing definition can optionally require all participants with approval permission to approve a change order for it to enter the approved state.

The Change Administrator can optionally require that all participants with approval permission must approve a change order for it to enter the approved state.

NoteThe Change Administrator can force the approval of an open change order.

Once a change order is fully approved, the change order enters the closed state. The files and items associated with the change order are released. If the product is new, the new files and items are released for the first time. If the design configuration currently exists, the existing revision is superseded by the new revision of the item.

If you create a new assembly and it has previously unreleased parts, then setting effectivity releases both the assembly and the previously unreleased parts for the first time.

NoteAlthough the new, previously unreleased parts do not have to be on the change order, it is recommended to place these parts on the change order for tracking purposes
Working with States, Activities, and Roles

Manage Notifications

A user on the routing list is notified when the change order enters a state that requires attention. For example, the Responsible Engineer is notified when the change order enters the Work state, but the approver does not get notified until it enters the Review state.

Turn ECO notification off or on

The pop-up message indicating an ECO has been added to your worklist can be turned off or on. By default, the pop-up notification is on.