You must be assigned the role of Editor or Administrator to perform this action. Contact your vault administrator to verify
your role. Users assigned the role of Administrator can delete unconditionally, overriding the rules for deleting children
and files that are currently checked out.
Rules for deleting files:
- All versions are deleted unless another file references the target file.
NoteYou cannot delete a file with a released version unless you select the Ignore restrictions check box.
- Shared files can be deleted at any time. The actual file is not deleted from the vault.
- Parents must be deleted before children.
- A checked out file must be checked back in before it is deleted.
- If the file is labeled, then the label must be deleted before the file can be deleted from the vault.
NoteVault administrators can override conditions and delete a file regardless of restrictions.
Delete Files from a Vault
You must be assigned the role of either Editor or Administrator to perform this action. Contact your vault administrator to
verify your role. Users assigned the role of Administrator can delete unconditionally, overriding the rules for deleting children
and files that are currently checked out.
NoteWhen you delete a file, you cannot recover it within the vault. All previous versions of the file and history information
pertaining to that file is lost
- Select a file or folder.
- From the Edit menu, select Delete.
or
Right-click the file, and then select Delete.
You are prompted to confirm deletion.
- Click Yes to delete the file or folder from the vault.
If the file cannot be deleted due to restrictions imposed upon it by the vault, such as it is currently checked out or it
is labeled, an error dialog box is displayed. Vault administrators can ignore the restrictions and delete the file regardless.
Delete Hot Keys
Any item, change order, or fileselected in the main view can be deleted by pressing either Ctrl+D or the Delete key on the
keyboard. If the main view does not have focus, for example, the query builder is open and the cursor is placed in a text
field, the Ctrl+D hot key combination will delete the selected object; however, the Delete key acts only in the field containing
the cursor.
Override Delete Restrictions
NoteYou must be a vault administrator to delete a file unconditionally.
- When the error dialog box is displayed, click Details to expand the dialog box and see the reason for the restriction.
- Click the Ignore restrictions (delete unconditionally) check box.
- Click Yes to override the delete restriction and permanently remove the file or folder from the vault.
or
Click No to close the error dialog and keep the file in the vault.