Restore a Revit Project File

 
 
 

When using Autodesk Vault Workgroup, Collaboration or Professional, a Revit project may be restored to any point in time for which a backup was created. This process supports rolling backward and forward through the snapshots. It is also possible to open a snapshot for comparison without disrupting the project in process. 

Procedures

Restore a Central Project File

  1. Ensure all users are disconnected from the central file. 
  2. Login to Autodesk Vault Client for Workgroup, Collaboration or Professional.
  3. Locate and select the project file to restore.
  4. Select the History tab in the Preview Pane.
  5. Select the Historical version to restore.
  6. Select Get/Checkout from the Actions menu or the right click context menu. 
  7. Select the more button '>>' on the Get / Check Out dialog.
  8. Check the option 'Override working folder'.
  9. Set the override path to the network location of the central project file.
  10. Select Ok.
    Note You may see a confirmation message stating that file is newer or older than the existing file.  Select 'Yes' to confirm overwriting the exiting file with the version being restored from vault. 
  11. Using Revit open the restored central project file.
  12. Enable worksharing in the project file and save. 
  13. All users must create a new local copy of the work shared central file.

Restore a Non-Central Project File

  1. Login to Autodesk Vault Client for Workgroup, Collaboration or Professional.
  2. Locate and select the project file to restore.
  3. Select the History tab in the Preview Pane.
  4. Select the Historical version to restore.
  5. Select Get/Checkout from the Actions menu or the right click context menu. 
  6. Select the more button '>>' on the Get / Check Out dialog.
  7. Verify the local path to restore the file.
    NoteIf the path is correct skip step 8.
  8. Check the option 'Override working folder' and set the override path to the location of the project file.
  9. Select Ok.
    NoteYou may see a confirmation message stating that file is newer or older than the existing file.  Select 'Yes' to confirm overwriting the exiting file with the version being restored from vault.