User accounts are created and administered in the User Management dialog box, and then assigned to vaults.
In addition to unique user names and passwords, users are assigned roles. Roles determine whether or not a user can administer the vaults, create folders, add and delete files, or get data. Each role is defined by a set of permissions. Role-based permissions are additive, so a user assigned multiple roles has all the privileges of the assigned roles. A user that does not have any role assigned and does not belong to a group with a role has no access to the vault.
Active Directory Accounts and Windows AuthenticationAn administrator can create a vault server account with credentials unique to the vault server or import a Windows Active Directory account. By using an Active Directory account, users can log into Autodesk data management clients using their Windows account credentials. Users and groups can then be managed using Windows permissions.
Domain user accounts and domain user groups can be imported to the Autodesk vault server. This allows for accounts to be created using Active Directory information and allows users to log into a data management client without requiring a new account. If a user account or group already exists on the server, it can be promoted to an Active Directory account or group. Likewise, an account or group created by importing an Active Directory account can be disconnected or demoted from the Active Directory domain, making the account or group unique to the server.
You cannot manage Active Directory accounts through the server console. You can only import Active Directory accounts, promote server accounts to the Active Directory domain, or demote Active Directory accounts to standard server user accounts. To manage Active Directory user accounts and Active Directory group membership, you must use the User Accounts controls in the Windows Control Panel.
Manage Users
Administration
Global Settings.
List to view the user profiles in a flat list.
By Vault to view the user profiles as a list grouped by the vaults to which they are assigned.
By Role to view the user profiles as a list grouped by roles.
Add a New User
Administration
Global Settings.
Edit a User Profile
Administration
Global Settings.
Edit Your User Profile (Current User)
User Profile.
Grant Vault AccessIn the Global Settings dialog box, select the Security tab, and then click Users.
To grant a user access to one or more vaults for the first time, click New User.
In the Add Vaults dialog box, select one or more vaults, and then click OK.
To edit access to a vault, double-click a user's profile in the User Management dialog box.
In the Vaults dialog box, select or cancel the selection of one or more vaults, and then click OK.
In the Global Settings dialog box, select the Security tab, and then click Groups.
To grant a group access to one or more vaults for the first time, click New Group.
In the Add Vaults dialog box, select one or more vaults, and then click OK.
To edit access to a vault, double-click a group's profile in the Group Management dialog box.
In the Vaults dialog box, select or cancel the selection of one or more vaults, and then click OK.
Add a New Vault Server User Account
Import an Active Directory Domain User Account
Import Domain User.
Vault server user accounts imported from an Active Directory domain use the first name, last name, user name, e-mail address, and password associated with the Active directory account and cannot be edited. The domain name is displayed in front of the user name. Changes made to the Active Directory user account are updated in the vault server user account automatically.
Promote Vault Server Accounts to Active Directory Domain AccountsA vault server user account can be promoted to an Active Directory account. Promoting a vault server account to an Active Directory account maps the vault server account to an existing Windows account. Promoting an account replaces the vault server account information with the selected Active Directory account information.
Promote to Domain User.
Demote an Active Directory Domain User Account to a Vault Server User AccountA vault server user account that was imported from an Active Directory domain or promoted to an Active Directory domain can be demoted, creating an vault server -only account. Once demoted, the account is unique to the vault server and no longer associated with the user's Windows account.
Demote Domain User. When the account is demoted, the domain name is removed from the user name. As a result, the demoted
account may collide with an existing vault server account with the same name. If the vault server account name already exists,
you are prompted to rename the demoted account.
The vault server account retains the vault server group membership and permissions but is no longer associated with the Active Directory account. The password for the demoted account is reset to be blank.