Ownership Administration

 
 
 

NoteThis feature is available only in Vault Collaboration and Vault Professional.

To change an entity in a connected workgroups environment, the workgroup must have ownership of that entity. When taking ownership of an object the user selects the length of time in which no other workgroup can take ownership. This length of time is called a lease. At the end of a lease the current owner maintains ownership until another user requests ownership of that object. If the lease is expired, the requesting workgroup takes ownership of that object.

There are two types of ownership in a connected workgroup environment, ownership of specific entities (i.e., files, folders, items, change orders, and custom objets), and ownership of administrative objects.

When performing an edit operation on an entity that is not owned by your workgroup, but for which the lease has expired for the owning workgroup, ownership is transferred automatically and the edit operation succeeds. If the databases are not in sync, however, ownership is still transferred but the edit operation is canceled.

NoteOwnership of Administrative objects is not transferred automatically. They must be managed manually.

Refer to Manage Ownership for more information on changing ownership for files, folders, items, change orders, and custom objects.

About Administrative Ownership
Change Administrative Ownership
Change Default Ownership Setting for Files, Folders, Items, Change Orders, and Custom Objects