The Project Sync feature provides file and folder synchronization between the Vault and Autodesk Buzzsaw products. This capability enables Vault users to automatically synchronize files from a folder in Vault with a folder in Buzzsaw. The synchronization works in both directions; files can be uploaded from Vault to Buzzsaw and vice versa, providing simple and reliable two-way communications between project team members.
You can configure Project Sync to automatically perform synchronization whenever a specified work event occurs. For example,
you can set it so that whenever a user performs a change state on a file in Vault, Vault and Buzzsaw automatically synchronize so that the changed file shows in Buzzsaw.
Project Sync is available for download from the Site Information Page on your Buzzsaw site. In order to install and configure
Project Sync, you must have Autodesk Vault Workgroup, Autodesk Vault Collaboration, or Autodesk Vault Professional installed and must be a Vault Administrator.
Release Availability
Project sync is available in Vault Workgroup, Collaboration, and Professional 2012.
Project Sync Commands
When Project Sync is installed, four new commands are added to the Vault client:
- Share to Buzzsaw
- Update from Buzzsaw
- Add from Buzzsaw
- Sync Now
Each command adds a job to the job queue. The job queue executes the command using the file(s) selected.
Share to Buzzsaw
Selected files are added from the Vault server to the Buzzsaw server based on the folder mapping configured on the Project
Sync Settings dialog. If the file exists on the Buzzsaw server already, a new version is added.
Update from Buzzsaw
Selected files are updated from the Buzzsaw server to the Vault server. If the files are unchanged, then no new version is
created in the Vault.
Add from Buzzsaw
Selected files are added from the Buzzsaw server to the Vault server. Any files that are not already in the Vault are added
and any files that are already in the Vault are updated.
Sync Now
All files in the mapped Vault and Buzzsaw folders are synchronized.
During a synchronization, any changes to the data in the vault are updated to Buzzsaw first. After changes have been updated
from Vault to Buzzsaw, any remaining changes on Buzzsaw are updated to Vault.
Job Types
The Project Sync feature creates jobs and adds them to the Job Queue to be executed automatically. The Project Sync installation
adds four new job types.
| Project Sync Command |
Job Type |
| Share to Buzzsaw |
autodesk.vault.projectsync.share |
| Update from Buzzsaw |
autodesk.vault.projectsync.update |
| Add from Buzzsaw |
autodesk.vault.projectsync.add |
| Sync with Buzzsaw |
autodesk.vault.projectsync.sync |
Refer to Managing the Job Processor for more information on job types.
Add from Buzzsaw
The Add from Buzzsaw command allows the user to add new files to the vault from the Buzzsaw server.
Steps:
- Select the Add from Buzzsaw command.
- Navigate the Buzzsaw site and select the file or files that you would like to add to the Vault.
- Click Open.
Selected files are added from the Buzzsaw server to the Vault server. Any files that are not already in the Vault are added
and any files that are already in the Vault are updated as needed.
Update from Buzzsaw
The Update from Buzzsaw command allows you to update selected files from the Buzzsaw server to the Vault server. If there
are no changes made to the files then no new version is created in the Vault.
- Select the file or files in Vault that you want to download from the Buzzsaw server.
- Click Update from Buzzsaw.
The updated files from Buzzsaw are compared against the Vault versions. If a file is unchanged then the file version is not
changed. If there are changes in the file then a new version is created with the changes.
NoteThe files must exist and be selected in the Vault for this command. Adding new files to the Vault can be done using the Add
from Buzzsaw command.
A job for each seleced file is added to the job queue and processed in the order in which it is added. These jobs are given
a high priority and are processed before dwf publishing jobs.
Share to Buzzsaw
The Share to Buzzsaw command allows you to upload the latest version of a vault file to the Buzzsaw server.
- In the Vault client, select the file or files that you would like to Share to Buzzsaw.
- Click Share to Buzzsaw.
A job for each selected file is added to the job queue and processed in the order in which it was added. These jobs are given
a high priority and are processed before dwf publishing jobs.
Sync Now
This command allows the user to synchronize all files between the Vault server and the Buzzsaw server. If there are no changes
made to the files then no new versions will be created in Vault or Buzzsaw.
- Click Sync Now to start synchronization.
During a synchronization, any changes to the data in the Vault will be updated to Buzzsaw first. After changes have been updated
from Vault to Buzzsaw, any remaining changes on Buzzsaw will be updated to the vault.
Once this command is selected, a sync job will be added to the job queue and will be processed in the order in which it was
added. The job is given a high priority so it will be processed before jobs such as DWF publishing.
Lifecycle Event Editor for Project Sync
The Lifecycle Event Editor can be utilized to automate the upload or download of files between Autodesk Vault and Autodesk
Buzzsaw on lifecycle state change events. For users interested in allowing edits from the Buzzsaw server, an administrator
can emulate a 'checked out to Buzzsaw' state by configuring the lifecycle event editor and lifecyce state security.
Refer to the Lifecycle Event Editor for Project Sync for more information.