There are two main dialogs in the client which are used to access administration features: the Vault Settings dialog and the Global Tasks dialog.
Vault Settings DialogThe Vault Settings dialog box manages file settings and administrative tasks such as user accounts, vault access, and properties.
Files TabThe Files tab contains options for enforcing unique file names, disabling design file check in, specifying working folder options, and locating duplicates.
Administration
Vault Settings.
Working Folder & Inventor Projects
You can enforce a consistent working folder for all clients or allow clients to define their own working folder. And you can enforce a default Inventor project file for all clients or allow clients to use last Vault controlled project file.
Properties (Autodesk Vault Basic Only)
Click Properties to manage user-defined properties. All of the extracted properties being tracked by the vault can be managed using the Property Definitions dialog box.
Visualization TabThe Visualization tab contains options for configuring visualization attachments, managing visualization files, and configuring publishing settings.
Administration
Vault Settings.
You can enable or disable file attachments, specify where visualization attachments are published, and disable or enable the DWF warnings by clicking Define in the Visualization Attachments section.
The Visualization Management options allow you to specify which commands break the link between a data file in the vault and its corresponding visualization file.
Behaviors TabThe Behaviors tab contains options for editing lifecycle definitions and managing revisions, administrating categories and rules, creating and modifying properties, defining customized numbering schemes, and assigning colors in reports.
Administration
Vault Settings.
Products have defined lifecycles from inception through production. You can edit and assign lifecycle definitions and configure state comments, security, and transitions on the Lifecycles Definitions dialog box.
Revision schemes allow you to manage assign sequence values, formats, and comments to files and items that have been revised.
Category management provides a way to group properties logically and assign sets of behaviors and rules to one or more files or items.
Rules allow you to automatically assign categories to files or items with particular properties.
Click Properties to manage user-defined properties. All of the extracted properties being tracked by the vault can be managed using the Property Definitions dialog box.
Click Data Cards to configure the data card layout in Inventor, including the number of pages and the properties displayed on each page.
Numbering schemes used in the Rename wizard can be defined using the Numbering Schemes dialog box.
Color assignments for data mapping and reports are configured on the Assign Color dialog box.
Items TabThe Items tab contains options for configuring units of measure, categories, lifecylce revisions, managing item properties, and defining custom numbering schemes. You can also disable the items feature.
Enable or disable the Items feature to better control user access.
The units of measure are displayed in the Units of Measure dialog box. New units can also be defined.
Rules for bumping the revision can be specified as well as the default revision sequence to use. New revision sequences can also be defined. Automatic file locking can also be enforced on the Items tab.
The lifecycle state of an item can be indicated using a watermark on the associated visualization file. The watermark text, style, and position can be customized.
Disable Assignment of Design Files (Vault Professional 2012)
You can choose to disable the ability to assign item to design files such as .idw files. If this option is checked design files will only be linked to the Items for which they represent.
Change Orders TabThe Change Orders tab contains options for restricting item changes to change orders depending on lifecycle or state, configuring the markup folder, managing change order link properties, and defining change order numbering schemes. You can also disable the Change Orders feature.
Enable or disable the Change Orders feature to better control user access.
User defined properties for change orders can be created in the Property Definitions dialog. These properties belong to the change order itself and not its contents.
All change orders (new or existing) will have this property associated with it and can be edited as desired. Editing the property can be done from the Edit command of the change order or from the Edit Properties dialog.
For more about editing change order properties, see Work with Properties.
Linked user-defined change order properties are defined and managed in the User Defined Linked Properties (Change Order) dialog box.
The numbering scheme used for identifying change orders can be customized.
Administration
Vault Settings.
Custom Objects Tab
Global Tasks DialogThe Global Settings dialog box manages user accounts and securities, job server access, and SharePoint publishing settings.
Security TabThe Security tab contains options for granting user access to a vault and assigning user permissions. You can also create groups of users as well as assign access privileges and roles to the groups. The roles assigned to a user or group define the permissions of the user or members of the group.
User accounts are created and administered in the User Management dialog box.
A vault server user account can be created automatically when a Windows user that is a member of an Active Directory group with access to the vault server logs into an Autodesk data management client using Windows authentication. This option is on by default.
Groups are created and administered in the Groups dialog box.
You can view the roles and the permissions assigned to those roles in the Roles dialog box.
Administration
Global Settings.
Change Orders Tab (for Change Order Routing Definitions)The Change Orders tab contains options for editing routing lists and workflow definitions.
Activate routing lists, edit an existing routing, and edit routing participants.
Select the workflow definition to use from the drop-down list. When the Check state is enabled, a state named Check is added between Work and Review. Approving the change order in the Check state advances it to the Review state. Rejecting the change order returns it to the Work state. The role of Checker is added to the list of roles for routing participants. If the Check state is selected, a new routing cannot be created unless a Checker is assigned. The Standard workflow does not include the Check state or the Checker role.
Administration
Global Settings
Administration
Global Settings.
Integrations TabThe Integrations tab contains options for enabling the job server and configuring settings for publishing to SharePoint directories.
Administration
Global Settings.